It’s time for introspection

I’ve been talking to a few of the 6 Weeks to Skinny Jeans participants.  This is the third week.  And a handful are confessing their food sins to me.  I admit, with my platinum blonde hair, I do have a bit of an angelic glow about me.  I have suggested that they read once more their first blogs, if they wrote them.  Luckily, for those who did not, I have an excellent memory.  Let me throw some phrases back:  this is just what I need now, this time I’ll do it, I can do anything for six weeks, I am so excited about this, I’m not doing to give up, it’s only six weeks, I know I can do this,  how hard can it be, I really need to do this for me, oh, I could go on.  But you get the idea.  Everyone was so motivated and now, well, they have to live with it.  The six weeks are about half over.  It’s go time. As George Michael once sang, “If you’re gonna do it, do it right” (so you won’t go crazy looking for it, that’s from I’m Your Man, turns out, he wasn’t mine after all, but that’s another story).  Now is not the time to bitch and moan about how it hurts when I do this or I’m hungry or I want a sandwich or whatever.  Do you want to wear the skinny jeans bad enough?  Or do you want to fail?  Again? Really, the choice is in your hands.  Unless you eat with your face.  Which is acceptable in pie eating contests but not the general rule round these parts.  I for one have beat myself up over five measly pounds since, well, the day after I lost them.   However, I have a photo shoot to get ready for.  And I’m not about to listen to myself  kvetch about failing as I get ready.  And I haven’t cheated.  (Though I do have a date with a Peking duck after this is over with.)  Why did I want to do this?  Because I wanted to be able to both sit AND breathe in my skinny jeans.  Preferably, at the same time.  I needed to get back on the high protein track which is what I, as a bariatric patient, am supposed to be eating all of the time.  I wanted to feel in control again.  And I wanted the word smokin’ in front of hot when used to describe me.  That being said, I will continue to man up and hope my insides will bend to my will.  If not, I know where the duct tape is, and I’m not afraid to use it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

