Metabolism shmabolism

I was hanging with my bariatric surgeon from Centennial in Nashville, Doug Olsen, because that’s the way I roll, and I was telling him how he would so love that I was back to my hardcore ways with this 6 Weeks to Skinny Jeans thing.  Even though he immediately pointed out that the tablespoon of soy milk in my iced coffee counted as liquid calories.  I did inform him that the splash of soy milk (did you notice how it went from tablespoon to splash?) was the only liquid calories I was consuming in a day?  So he should be cool with that.  I was pointing out.  No, no, no.  I was bitching how I had dropped 5 pounds immediately then nada.  Doug said well, that’s to be expected.  Whaaaaaaaaaat?  Because my body and scale  like to taunt me a second time?  No, because, even though I have lost 200 pounds, I have suffered from the disease of obesity, part of which is a slow metabolism.  Slow metabolism is not a myth.  Thank God.  Big boned, well, the jury is out on that one.  So, it’s not been my imagination.  My body drops a few, shuts down, then drops some more.  Hey, I learned something.  I was also told that the shirt I was wearing would look much sexier not tucked in.  This information did not come from my doctor by the way, but second-hand.  When the suggestee starts bringing the sexy, I will start taking notes.  I also learned that soy milk stays fresh almost as long as a Twinkie.  Which reminds me, you really should watch Zombieland.  Great movie.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Metabolism shmabolism”

  1. Deborah Bohn Says:

    You have a great attitude and a wise perspective. Other people would hit a plateau and either spend hours on the treadmill to break through it or just give up. You’re the smart one who stays steady and knows that another drop is around the corner. Good things come to those who wait.


Leave a Reply

